Food & Drink|October 9, 2026|17 min read

Halal Food in Asakusa 2026: 9 Spots, Ramen to Tempura

Halal Food in Asakusa 2026: 9 Spots, Ramen to Tempura

Halal food in Asakusa: 9 spots near Senso-ji, from ramen at ¥1,500 to JHF-certified tempura at SAKURA and seafood bowls at Tokyo Sushi Bowl.

Introduction

Halal food in Asakusa starts at ¥1,500 plus tax for chicken paitan ramen and runs to Japan Halal Foundation (JHF) certified tempura; this guide covers 9 restaurants near Senso-ji, including two JHF-certified ones in the same building at Asakusa Station Exit A4. SAKURA and Tokyo Sushi Bowl name JHF on their own pages; Sushi Ken's certificate is attributed to JHF by Halal Media Japan. The other six say "halal" without naming a certifier, and we flag that each time.

We chose spots we could verify on official pages, TableCheck or Tabelog in 2026, and left out places that have closed or that we could not confirm. If strict compliance matters, ask to see the certificate. For the rest of the city, see our Tokyo halal food guide.

Hozomon gate at Senso-ji Temple in Asakusa, Tokyo, close to halal food in Asakusa

Photo by Zairon / Wikimedia Commons (CC BY-SA 4.0)

Quick picks

Tap a name to jump to its review.

#RestaurantAreaPriceBest forLink
1Tempura Asakusa SAKURAKaminarimon (Exit A4)¥3,800 bowl; courses ¥6,800+Certified tempura (JHF)Official
2Tokyo Sushi BowlKaminarimon (Exit A4)¥8,000+ (Tabelog)Certified seafood bowls (JHF), prayer roomOfficial
3Asakusa Sushi KenAsakusa 2-chome (TX)¥3,000 lunch; ¥10,000+ coursesEdomae nigiri (JHF per 2015 report)Tabelog
4Shinjuku-tei AsakusaAsakusa 1-chome¥1,500-¥4,500 + taxWagyu ramen, prayer room, no alcoholOfficial
5Gyumon AsakusaAsakusa 6-chome¥2,000-¥2,999 (Tabelog)Wagyu ramen, gyukatsuTabelog
6ShunpudouAsakusa 2-chome (TX)¥3,000-¥4,999 (Tabelog)Open 11:00-22:00, vegan ramenOfficial
7PangaKaminarimon¥5,830-¥8,030Wagyu sukiyakiTableCheck
8Honolu Premier HanareAsakusa 3-chomeNot listedChicken paitan ramenTabelog
9Sankyu AsakusaNishi-Asakusa¥2,000-¥2,999 (Tabelog)Muslim-friendly ramen, prayer spaceTabelog

1. Tempura Asakusa SAKURA — Japan Halal Foundation certified tempura at Exit A4 (bowls from ¥3,800)

Tempura Asakusa SAKURA is a tempura counter on the 7th floor of THE CITY Asakusa Kaminarimon, directly in front of Asakusa Station Exit A4. Its own blog (August 2024) says it is certified by the Japan Halal Foundation. The official menu says all meals are halal but alcohol is served, which is what its "2 star" level means; alcohol is poured in separate glasses.

All staff speak English. See our SAKURA menu and prices guide for the full menu.

What to order

  • Seafood Tempura Bowl (¥3,800)
  • Wagyu Omakase Tempura Course (¥8,800)
  • Wagyu bowl (from ¥4,300)

Practical info

  • Location: 7F THE CITY Asakusa Kaminarimon, 2-18-16 Kaminarimon, Taito-ku, Tokyo 111-0034
  • Nearest station: Asakusa Station (Ginza / Toei Asakusa) Exit A4, directly in front
  • Hours: 12:00-20:30 daily (food last order 20:00); no courses 15:00-17:00
  • Price: Courses ¥6,800-¥19,800; bowls from ¥3,800
  • English menu: Yes
  • Reservation: TableCheck (¥1,980 seat hold, not charged if you arrive on time) or tel 03-6284-7307
  • Halal status: Certified by the Japan Halal Foundation per the restaurant's own blog; alcohol served
  • Prayer space: Not stated by the restaurant
  • Source: SAKURA halal certification post

Insider tip

Courses are not served 15:00-17:00, so book lunch or an evening slot if you want one.

2. Tokyo Sushi Bowl — JHF certified seafood bowls with a prayer room (¥8,000+ budget)

Tokyo Sushi Bowl is a kaisendon (seafood rice bowl) restaurant on the 5th floor of the same building as SAKURA, one minute from Asakusa Station. Its official site says it is certified by the Japan Halal Foundation, and the operator's press release says it obtained one-star certification in June 2026 (the release does not explain the scale). It has a separate halal menu and a private prayer room with wudu space, and the official site mentions gluten-free options.

It is a bowl restaurant, not a nigiri counter, and the priciest stop here: Tabelog puts the budget at ¥8,000-¥9,999 for lunch and ¥10,000-¥14,999 for dinner. We found no individual bowl prices on the official site.

A generic seafood rice bowl (kaisendon style) with tuna, shrimp, crab and sea urchin, not from Tokyo Sushi Bowl

Photo by Evil Julia from Tokyo / Wikimedia Commons (CC BY-SA 2.0)

What to order

  • The halal seafood bowls: AKA FUJI, YAE SAKURA, ZAZEN, SAMURAI and OEDO

Practical info

  • Location: 5F THE CITY Asakusa Kaminarimon, 2-18-16 Kaminarimon, Taito-ku, Tokyo 111-0034
  • Nearest station: Asakusa Station (Ginza Line), 1 minute
  • Hours: 11:00-21:00, open 365 days per the official site; Tabelog shows 10:30-19:00, so check before going
  • Budget: Tabelog: lunch ¥8,000-¥9,999, dinner ¥10,000-¥14,999
  • English menu: Yes (Tabelog)
  • Reservation: Online via the official site, or tel 070-3618-1052; 28 seats. Cards only, no cash
  • Halal status: Certified by the Japan Halal Foundation; Tabelog lists sake, so confirm
  • Prayer space: Yes, private room and wudu space
  • Source: tokyo-sushi-bowl.com

Insider tip

Bring a card, and book ahead: there are only 28 seats.

3. Asakusa Sushi Ken (浅草 寿司賢) — Edomae sushi, halal per the shop, lunch from ¥3,000

Asakusa Sushi Ken is an Edomae sushi counter at Tsukuba Express Asakusa Exit A1. The shop's Tabelog text (updated October 2025) says all dishes are halal-certified, and that it is "2 stars" because alcohol is served. Halal Media Japan named the Japan Halal Foundation as certifier in 2015, but the shop's own site does not restate the certificate, so ask to see the current one.

It is the only nigiri counter on this list. Choose a lunch nigiri set or the chef's courses, all tax included. See also our halal sushi in Tokyo guide.

What to order

  • Lunch nigiri, 1.5 portions (13 pieces and a roll): ¥3,000
  • Sushi Konomi course (10 items): ¥10,000
  • Asakusa Sushi Ken course: ¥12,000

Practical info

  • Location: 2-11-4 Asakusa, Taito-ku, Tokyo 111-0032
  • Nearest station: Tsukuba Express Asakusa Exit A1, under 1 minute
  • Hours: Mon, Tue, Thu-Sat 12:00-15:00 and 17:00-22:00; Sun and holidays 12:00-15:00 and 17:00-21:30
  • Closed: Wednesday, plus about two Tuesdays a month (check Instagram)
  • Price: Nigiri sets ¥3,300 / ¥4,200; courses ¥10,000 / ¥12,000
  • English menu: Yes, with photos
  • Reservation: resebook online (English available) or tel 03-5246-6547
  • Halal status: Food certified per the shop; Japan Halal Foundation per Halal Media Japan (2015); alcohol served
  • Source: Tabelog

Insider tip

The ¥3,500 menu item labelled omakase is a sashimi platter, not a nigiri course.

4. Halal Wagyu Ramen Shinjuku-tei Asakusa (新宿亭 浅草店) — A5 wagyu ramen ¥4,500, chicken paitan from ¥1,500

Shinjuku-tei Asakusa is on the 2nd floor of the YS Building, four minutes from Tawaramachi Station. The official page calls it "100% Halal Food" with halal-certified ingredients and no pork or alcohol, but names no certifying body, so we label it halal per the restaurant.

It lists a prayer room, A5 wagyu ramen at ¥4,500 plus tax and chicken paitan ramen from ¥1,500 plus tax. The same price list is used at the Shinjuku branch in our halal ramen guide.

What to order

  • A5 wagyu ramen (¥4,500 + tax)
  • Chicken paitan ramen, S ¥1,500 / M ¥2,000 / L ¥2,500 + tax
  • A5 wagyu sushi, 2 pieces (¥1,000 + tax)

Practical info

  • Location: 2F YS Building, 1-10-2 Asakusa, Taito-ku, Tokyo
  • Nearest station: Ginza Line Tawaramachi Exit 3, 4 minutes
  • Hours: 12:00-21:00; may close early if sold out. Closed days not stated
  • Price: Wagyu ramen ¥4,500 + tax; Premium Ramen Set ¥6,000 + tax
  • English menu: Yes (multilingual menus)
  • Reservation: Online link on the official page, or tel 03-5246-4366
  • Halal status: Halal per the restaurant (no certifying body named); no pork or alcohol
  • Prayer space: Yes
  • Source: Shinjuku-tei Asakusa page

Insider tip

It may close early when it sells out, so go at lunch.

5. Gyumon Halal Ramen Asakusa (牛門ハラールラーメン浅草) — wagyu ramen, budget ¥2,000-¥2,999

Gyumon Asakusa, at 6-12-5 Asakusa north of Senso-ji, is the original Asakusa shop of the Gyumon group (opened February 2024), serving white and spicy wagyu ramen and gyukatsu. The group says its food is halal and Tabelog's shop text calls it halal-certified, but no certifier is named, so we label it halal per the restaurant. Our Gyumon guide covers the group.

A February 2024 review recorded the White Wagyu Ramen with all toppings at ¥2,420, so check current prices. The group's Gyumon Asakusa Kaminarimon branch (3F grand gate asakusa, 1-18-11 Asakusa) is two minutes from Asakusa Station, open 12:00-22:00, with 23 seats and an English menu.

What to order

  • White wagyu ramen
  • Spicy wagyu ramen
  • Gyukatsu

Practical info

  • Location: 1F Tsunoda Bldg, 6-12-5 Asakusa, Taito-ku, Tokyo 111-0032
  • Nearest station: Asakusa Station, 8 minutes (official)
  • Hours: Official 12:00-22:00; Tabelog 12:00-21:00 daily, so check before going
  • Budget: Tabelog ¥2,000-¥2,999
  • English menu: Yes
  • Reservation: Not accepted; 30 seats. Cashless only (cards, IC, iD, QUICPay, PayPay)
  • Halal status: Halal per the restaurant (no certifying body named); alcohol and prayer space not confirmed
  • Source: Tabelog

6. Shunpudou (春風堂) — halal ramen and wagyu cutlet, open 11:00-22:00 near TX Asakusa

Shunpudou, on the 3rd floor of the Asakusa Heiwa Building, is open daily from 11:00 to 22:00. The menu covers A5 wagyu ramen (white, spicy or miso), chicken paitan and clear chicken ramen, a vegan ramen and an A5 Kuroge wagyu beef cutlet set.

The official site says it uses only halal-certified ingredients and no inappropriate animal-derived ingredients or alcohol, with no certifying body named, so we call it halal per the restaurant. It is large (65 seats on Tabelog), and menus come in English, Chinese, Korean, Arabic and Bengali.

What to order

  • A5 wagyu ramen (white, spicy or miso)
  • A5 Kuroge wagyu beef cutlet set
  • Special vegan ramen

Practical info

  • Location: 3F Asakusa Heiwa Building, 2-6-11 Asakusa, Taito-ku, Tokyo 111-0032
  • Nearest station: Tsukuba Express Asakusa, 2 minutes
  • Hours: 11:00-22:00, no closed days
  • Budget: Tabelog: lunch ¥3,000-¥3,999, dinner ¥4,000-¥4,999 (not on the official menu)
  • English menu: Yes
  • Reservation: Not stated; tel 03-5830-6700. Cash, card, e-money and QR accepted
  • Halal status: Halal per the restaurant (no certifying body named); no alcohol in the food
  • Source: Shunpudou menu

Insider tip

The vegan ramen helps if your group includes someone who avoids meat.

7. Wagyu Sukiyaki Asakusa Panga (和牛すき焼き 浅草ぱんが) — A5 sukiyaki from ¥5,830

Panga serves A5 wagyu sukiyaki on the 3rd floor of the Kiyoshige Kaminarimon Building, 10 seconds from Asakusa Station Exit 4 according to Tabelog. It opened on 4 February 2025 and is the only halal sukiyaki we found in Asakusa.

On halal status, be precise: TableCheck tags the cuisine "Halal Certified" and the shop text says it obtained certification, but no certifying body is named. Tabelog's shop text says all dishes use halal ingredients. We label it halal per the restaurant.

What to order

  • Premium A5 wagyu sukiyaki set: 120 g ¥5,830 / 150 g ¥6,930 / 180 g ¥8,030, tax included

Practical info

  • Location: 3F Kiyoshige Kaminarimon Bldg, 2-1-13 Kaminarimon, Taito-ku, Tokyo
  • Nearest station: Asakusa Station Exit 4, 10 seconds
  • Hours: Mon-Fri and holidays 16:30-22:30; Sat and Sun 12:00-15:00 and 16:30-22:30. No closed days listed
  • Price: ¥5,830-¥8,030
  • English menu: Not confirmed (TableCheck mentions multilingual staff)
  • Reservation: TableCheck or tel 03-5830-7744; 34 seats
  • Halal status: TableCheck says "Halal Certified" but names no body; alcohol not confirmed
  • Source: TableCheck page

Insider tip

A separate Panga yakiniku restaurant on the 4th floor has its own TableCheck page. We did not verify its halal status.

8. Honolu Premier Hanare (帆のる ぷれみあ はなれ) — halal chicken paitan ramen north of Senso-ji

Honolu Premier Hanare is a chicken paitan ramen shop on Asakusa 3-chome, about 400 m from Tsukuba Express Asakusa Station. Press releases from the operator, Fukusuke Group (March and May 2026), say Honolu obtained halal certification in 2020 but name no certifier, so we label it halal per the brand. Our halal ramen guide also says the certifying body is not confirmed.

This is the thinnest entry: Tabelog lists no price or English menu, and its latest visit is from November 2025. Check Google Maps first.

What to order

  • Chicken paitan ramen

Practical info

  • Location: 3-17-3 Asakusa, Taito-ku, Tokyo
  • Nearest station: Tsukuba Express Asakusa, 402 m
  • Hours: Mon, Tue, Thu, Sat, Sun 11:30-14:30 and 17:00-21:00; Wed and Fri 11:00-14:30 and 17:00-21:00. No closed days listed
  • Price: Not listed; check Google Maps
  • Halal status: Halal per the brand (no certifying body named); alcohol and prayer space not confirmed
  • Source: Tabelog

9. Sankyu Halal Japanese Food Asakusa (三休ハラール日本料理 浅草店) — Muslim-friendly ramen with a prayer space

Sankyu is a small shop (24 seats) in Nishi-Asakusa serving beef-bone shoyu ramen in beef, chicken or mixed versions, plus gyoza and karaage. Its Tabelog text describes a Muslim-friendly halal restaurant using only halal-certified ingredients, with a prayer space. No certifying body is named, so this is Muslim-friendly rather than certified. It opened on 11 January 2025 per Tabelog.

Tabelog lists English and photo menus and English-speaking staff. Recent visits are sparse (July 2025 and May 2026), so check before a special trip.

What to order

  • Beef-bone shoyu ramen (beef, chicken or mixed)
  • Gyoza
  • Karaage

Practical info

  • Location: 1F Takahashi Bldg, 2-25-7 Nishi-Asakusa, Taito-ku, Tokyo
  • Nearest station: Tsukuba Express Asakusa, 3 minutes
  • Hours: Tue-Sun 12:00-15:00 and 17:00-21:00
  • Closed: Monday
  • Budget: Tabelog ¥2,000-¥2,999
  • English menu: Yes
  • Reservation: Not accepted
  • Halal status: Muslim-friendly (no certification stated)
  • Prayer space: Yes, per the shop text
  • Source: Tabelog

How to choose

By budget

By area

By style

Halal certification in Asakusa: what the labels mean

Japan has no single government halal certifier. Private bodies issue certificates, and a restaurant can say "halal" without one. Our Tokyo halal food guide explains the bodies. Here, "certified" is used only where a body is named.

RestaurantCertifier namedAlcohol
SAKURAJapan Halal FoundationServed
Tokyo Sushi BowlJapan Halal FoundationTabelog lists sake
Sushi KenJHF per Halal Media Japan (2015)Served
Shinjuku-teiNoneNo
Gyumon, Shunpudou, HonoluNoneAsk
Panga"Halal Certified" tag, no bodyAsk
SankyuNone (Muslim-friendly)Ask

SAKURA describes "2 star" as all meals halal but alcohol served, and Sushi Ken gives the same explanation. Tokyo Sushi Bowl reports one star, which its release does not explain. If you avoid venues that serve alcohol, Shinjuku-tei is the one that says it does not.

Prayer rooms and the Asakusa Mosque

Nakamise-dori shopping street in Asakusa leading toward Senso-ji

Photo by Maarten Heerlien from Voorschoten, The Netherlands / Wikimedia Commons (CC BY 2.0)

In restaurants. Tokyo Sushi Bowl (5F, same building as SAKURA) has a private prayer room and wudu space, Shinjuku-tei lists a prayer room, and Sankyu's Tabelog text mentions a prayer space. We could not confirm one at SAKURA, Sushi Ken, Gyumon, Shunpudou, Panga or Honolu, so ask when you book.

Asakusa Mosque. Masjid Darul Arqam is at 1-9-12 Higashi-Asakusa, tel +81-3-3871-6061. The JNTO Muslim guide says to take a bus from Asakusa Station to the Higashi-Asakusa stop (about 10 minutes) and walk 2 minutes; ablution water is available. Opening hours are not stated and sources disagree, so confirm before you go.

Senso-ji timing. The main hall is open 6:00-17:00 (from 6:30 October to March). We have not verified any Nakamise stall as halal; our Asakusa street food guide suits non-halal companions.

Closed or unverifiable places to skip

Older Asakusa halal lists still include places we could not confirm:

  • Sekai Cafe Asakusa closed permanently in 2020, according to Groovy Japan.
  • Gonpachi Asakusa Azumabashi was reported to offer a halal wagyu course from 2017 to 2023, but its 2026 official site and menus make no halal mention. It is a full-alcohol izakaya.
  • Naritaya (halal ramen, 2-7-13 Asakusa): its official site was unreachable and we found no Tabelog page, so its status is unverified.

Taito City also publishes a halal, vegetarian and vegan food diversity map for the Ueno-Yanaka and Asakusa areas. We could not find the official PDF, so ask the tourist information centre for it.

FAQ

Is there halal food in Asakusa?
Yes. This guide lists 9 halal restaurants near Senso-ji covering tempura, seafood bowls, sushi, ramen and wagyu. SAKURA and Tokyo Sushi Bowl name the Japan Halal Foundation as certifier on their own pages.
Which Asakusa restaurants are halal-certified, and by whom?
Tempura Asakusa SAKURA and Tokyo Sushi Bowl name the Japan Halal Foundation. Asakusa Sushi Ken says its food is certified, and Halal Media Japan named the same body in 2015. Panga shows a Halal Certified tag without naming a body. The rest say halal without naming one.
Where can I eat halal ramen in Asakusa?
Shinjuku-tei Asakusa, Gyumon Asakusa, Shunpudou, Honolu Premier Hanare and Sankyu. Chicken paitan ramen at Shinjuku-tei starts at ¥1,500 plus tax, and it also has a prayer room and says it serves no alcohol.
Is there halal sushi in Asakusa?
Asakusa Sushi Ken serves Edomae nigiri with food it describes as halal-certified, and alcohol is served. Tokyo Sushi Bowl, certified by the Japan Halal Foundation, serves seafood bowls rather than nigiri.
Is there a mosque or prayer room near Senso-ji?
Masjid Darul Arqam is at 1-9-12 Higashi-Asakusa, about a 10 minute bus ride and 2 minute walk from Asakusa Station, with ablution water. Tokyo Sushi Bowl, Shinjuku-tei and Sankyu also have prayer space. Confirm the mosque's hours first.
Do halal restaurants in Asakusa serve alcohol?
Some do. SAKURA and Asakusa Sushi Ken say alcohol is served, and Tabelog lists sake at Tokyo Sushi Bowl. Shinjuku-tei says it has no pork or alcohol. For the others, ask when you book.
Is Nakamise street food halal?
We have not verified any Nakamise stall as halal. Ask each stall about pork, gelatin and alcohol before you buy.
Where can I eat halal wagyu in Asakusa?
Panga serves A5 wagyu sukiyaki from ¥5,830, SAKURA offers a wagyu tempura course at ¥8,800, and Shinjuku-tei and Shunpudou serve A5 wagyu ramen. Panga names no certifying body.

Plan your visit

For other areas and cuisines, see our Tokyo halal food guide, halal ramen guide and halal sushi guide. Travelling with non-Muslim companions? Our Asakusa food guide covers other Asakusa classics. Confirm hours and halal status with each restaurant before you travel.

Topics
Food & DrinkTokyoTravel

More Articles